17.2 C
Saturday, July 13, 2024

Covid-19 closes Rossburgh, Pinetown, Mkondeni and other KZN licensing centres

- Advertisement -

13 KwaZulu-Natal Driving Licence Testing Centres (DLTCs) have been closed due to positive cases of Covid-19.

The KwaZulu-Natal Department of Transport announced the closure of the 13 DLTCs across the province on Tuesday saying they have been affected by Covid-19 outbreaks and will temporarily shut down until further notice.

“All affected buildings are being deep-cleaned and thoroughly disinfected as part of infection prevention and control. The Department as well as the affected Municipalities will update the public once operations resume at each branch.
As a precautionary measure, all services have been suspended with immediate effect and infected staff members have since gone into self-isolation and will follow all the necessary Covid-19 protocols.

- Advertisement -

Health workers have been alerted and necessary precautionary measures have been put in place for the rest of the staff members for assessment and screening to ensure a safe environment for all.

Out of the 13 DLTCs that have been temporarily closed, nine are run by various local municipalities while four are run by the Provincial Department of Transport.

The 13 centres that have been affected are as follows:

  • Eshowe (Municipal)
  • Vryheid (Municipal
  • Howick (Municipal)
  • Mooi River (Municipal)
  • Underberg – KwaSani (Municipal)
  • Hlabisa (Municipal)
  • Richmond (Municipal)
  • Utrecht (Municipal)
  • Nongoma (Municipal)
  • Newcastle RTI (Provincial)
  • Rossburgh RTI (Provincial)
  • Pinetown RTI (Provincial)
  • Mkondeni RTI (Provincial)

Once given the green light to resume operations by the respective Occupational Health and Safety teams, all other services rendered by the affected DLTCs will re-open and members of the public will be advised accordingly.

- Advertisement -

Those whose learner and driving license tests have been impacted by the closures will be contacted to arrange alternative test dates at no additional cost.

Members of the public and car dealerships are urged to use other DLTCs and Registering Authorities that have not been affected. This is in addition to more than 39 post offices and municipalities operating as registering authorities.

Members of the public are also urged not to panic as there is the 90-days grace window period approved by the National Minister of Transport for the renewal of licences that have expired.” read the statement.

- Advertisement -

Related Articles

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -

Similar Stories