HomeTrucking NewsWhatsApp users can now block screenshot of their chat, exit groups unnoticed...

WhatsApp users can now block screenshot of their chat, exit groups unnoticed with new privacy features

WhatsApp is rolling out new privacy features that will allow users to prevent screenshot of their messages tagged as ‘view once’ and exiting groups without everyone in the group noticing.

Meta CEO, Mark Zuckerberg announced the new privacy features introduced by the social media platform on Tuesday afternoon.

With the ‘Leave Groups Silently’ feature, instead of notifying the full group when leaving, only the admins will be notified. This feature will start rolling out to all users this month.

SA Trucker Drivers Portal Hiring

Looking for Driving Work?

Create your FREE professional driver profile and get found by top transport companies across South Africa.

Employers Need You

Transport companies are actively searching for qualified drivers right now.

40+
Employers
3,000+
Drivers
Free
To Join

Need Qualified Drivers?

Search verified, professional driver profiles instantly.

Verified Profiles
Code 14 Drivers Code 10 Drivers

Join SA's #1 Trucking Portal

Drivers find work. Companies find drivers. It's free to register.

Free Professional Verified

In addition to that, Zuckerberg said WhatsApp users can also prevent people from doing a screenshot of messages tagged as ‘view once’.

Announcing this via his Facebook page, Zuckerberg wrote:

“New privacy features coming to WhatsApp; exit group chats without notifying everyone, control who can see when you’re online, and prevent screenshots on view once messages.”

“We’ll keep building new ways to protect your messages and keep them as private and secure as face-to-face conversations,” he added.

Whatsapp also issued a statement saying that “seeing when friends or family are online helps users feel connected to one another, but everyone has had times when they wanted to check their WhatsApp privately. For the times you want to keep your online presence private, WhatsApp is introducing the ability to select who can and can’t see when you’re online.”

Read also: New WhatsApp Update brings Reactions, admins now able to delete users’ messages from everyone’s chat

On the ‘View Once Messages’ feature, it noted that ‘View Once’ is already an incredibly popular way to share photos or media that don’t need to have a permanent digital record.

“Now WhatsApp is enabling screenshot blocking for View Once messages for an added layer of protection. This feature is being tested and will be rolled out to users soon,” it said.

The company added that the introduction of these new features is backed by a new WhatsApp privacy study which found that 72% of people value being able to speak in an honest, unfiltered way, but more than 47% are only comfortable doing this in a safe, private space.

The latest SA Trucking News straight to your inbox!

Skhumbuzo Masiko
Skhumbuzo Masikohttps://satrucker.co.za/
Skhumbuzo Masiko is a Durban-based truck driver and journalist with over 18 years of experience in South Africa’s heavy-duty trucking industry. He is the founder and editor of SA Trucker, where he reports on road safety, fleet news, transport trends, and industry insights for truckers and transport operators.
RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Our Socials

1,310,305FansLike
48,918FollowersFollow
79,400FollowersFollow
130,000SubscribersSubscribe

Code 14 Jobs

Most Read

- Advertisment -